-'s in the domain name
2014-01-23, 04:59 PM,
For SEO purposes is it okay to have -'s in your url? Or is it discouraged?

Ex: help-thread.com

Your Future Isn't Programmed.
Learn All You Can, While You Can.
2014-01-23, 06:03 PM,
I'm not a seo expert but my new website has one - in the url and at the moment it's at the second and 3rd pages of bing/yahoo and google for a 18k searched a month keyword.

That's without any article software or whatever (idk how to do it) . It's got 352 backlinks ,URL rank 3 and 26 referring domains and it's going up the search pages slowly but surely.

So yeah, I don't think it matters and I hope I helped
Latest Thanks - View all

Amped-(2014-01-23 06:27 PM) 
2014-01-23, 06:20 PM,
NO. don't use - in domain.
for ex :
hack-tools.com
Just use hacktools.com
Latest Thanks - View all

Amped-(2014-01-23 06:28 PM) 
2014-01-23, 06:43 PM,
Nope it's not but the shorter the domain the better. Also the domain should be clear to read not sddcewe.com.

I don't think it will have an effect at all actually.
Latest Thanks - View all

Amped-(2014-01-23 07:29 PM) 
2014-01-23, 07:25 PM,
For keyword, seo purposes it is okay to use to hyphens. I wouldn't use multiple hyphens in the domain name, because you'll probably be using them in the inner pages of your website as well. The address bar will look like a hyphenated cluster f*ck.

The main reason people recommend to NOT use hyphens is, because the average end user is a moron behind a computer. You're website could be cool-kicks.com, and they'll just put in coolkicks.com and your competitor will reap the benefits and get the sales. Or they don't realize that hyphen is meant to separate words and they'll put it co-olkicks.com .

You have to remember that a good majority of people are complete idiots, can't tell the left shoe from the right. So if you put something as "complicated" as a hyphen in a domain name, you mess up their thought process..