Learning to program | HELP
2014-06-03, 04:59 PM,
Hello i was just wondering what i should start with in regard to programming. I am not a complete noob when it comes to programming, i have dabbed a bit here and there. I do more visual basic at school in Software design than anything else. What i want to know is if i should learn how to program in vb to a point where i can program off the top of my head or try something else.

What i want to be able to do is at the start make some little programs such as simple auto viewer for YouTube. And then go to something big such as a mass video downloader/uploader.

With that said i want to know if that is all possible in vb or should i learn a whole other language to do this, if so what language?

Thankyou any answers are helpfull

[Image: banner1.gif]
2014-06-05, 02:20 AM,
I am using C/C++ and Haxe for some cross-platform apps between desktop, browser and mobile. But I think you should keep with VS and learn C#, some scripting language like Python and of course PHP along with JavaScript, they are popular, pretty easy to learn and I think they suit your needs. I used to develop some flash based apps / games in AS3 which bring me some traffic, but now with Haxe I can do desktop, browser and mobile with just one language. With C/C++ you can do lots of funny stuffs which are blacker than all those f@ck, h@ck stuffs, they aren't that hard if you spend sometime into them, they will pay as long as you know what you are doing and what you want to do. Watch out for the cops though.
2014-06-05, 03:22 AM,
For automation tools I'd suggest sticking to .NET (VB/C#). You can do just about anything you need to do and it's very well documented across the web.

Each time you run into a problem just search it and you will definitely find the answer somewhere.