Facebook trademark infringement Email-Scam or real?
2013-09-27, 11:25 AM,
Guys,Please help me i have got this email from the address "enforcemen​t@mm-facebo​ok.com" as i am using a domain name with "facebook trademark on it" i am really confused if this email is really from facebook or its just an scam.

Quote: To Whom It May Concern,

We are writing concerning your registration and use of the domain name facebookxxxxx.com, which contains the famous Facebook trademark.

As you undoubtedly know, Facebook is the leading online social network service. Facebook adopted the name and trademark Facebook in February 2004 and, since that time, Facebook has actively used the Facebook name and trademark in connection with its online social network service, including maintaining the web site http://www.Facebook.com. The term Facebook is one of the most famous trademarks on the Internet. Facebook owns exclusive trademark rights to the Facebook name as a result of numerous trademark registrations in the United States and internationally, as well as related common law rights. Accordingly, Facebook enjoys broad trademark rights in its name.

Facebook has made a substantial investment in developing and providing its services. As a result of Facebook’s pioneering efforts and devoting substantial effort and resources to providing only high quality services, the Facebook name and trademarks are widely known among the consuming public worldwide, and the name and trademarks embody substantial and valuable goodwill.

Accordingly, we were concerned when we learned of your registration and use of facebookxxxxxx.com. As we hope you can appreciate, protection of its trademarks is very important to Facebook. Your registration and use of facebookxxxxxxx.com violates the Lanham Act (15 U.S.C. 1051 et seq.) because it infringes and dilutes the famous Facebook trademark.

Infringement occurs when a third party’s use of a company’s trademark (or a confusingly similar variation thereof) is likely to confuse consumers as to the affiliation, sponsorship or endorsement of the third party’s services. Trademark dilution occurs when a third party’s use of a variation of a company’s trademark is likely to lessen the distinctiveness of the company’s famous trademark.

We have filed several proceedings before the United Nation's World Intellectual Property Organization's arbitration panel. Facebook has prevailed in each case and the domain names at issue were all ordered to be transferred to Facebook. Facebook is concerned that your unauthorized use of the Facebook name may cause confusion as to whether you or your company’s activities are authorized, endorsed or sponsored by Facebook when, in fact, they are not.

We understand that you may have registered facebookxxxxxxx.com without full knowledge of the law in this area. However, Facebook is concerned about your use of the Facebook trademark in your domain name. As you may know, the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act provides for serious penalties (up to $100,000 per domain name) against persons who, without authorization, use, sell, or offer for sale a domain name that infringes another’s trademark.

While Facebook respects your right of expression and your desire to conduct business on the Internet, Facebook must enforce its own rights in order to protect its valuable and famous trademark. For these reasons, and to avoid consumer confusion, Facebook must insist that you immediately stop using facebookxxxxxxx.com and disable any site available at that address. You should not sell, offer to sell, or transfer the domain name to a third party and should let the domain registration expire.

Please confirm in writing that you will agree to resolve this matter as requested. If we do not receive confirmation from you that you will comply with our request, we will have no choice but to pursue all available remedies against you.



Legal Dept.
Facebook, Inc.
Share This Thread :
2013-09-27, 11:57 AM, (This post was last modified: 2013-09-27, 12:02 PM by Required.)
Searched it up. Take down your domain bro, the email is legit and sent from Facebook.

Please correct me if I am wrong.
Latest Thanks - View all

Hellgate(2013-09-27 12:14 PM) 

2013-09-27, 11:59 AM,
This is real. I've got this message too from them. I took down my site and cancel my domain. I email them back and they accept my apology.
Latest Thanks - View all

Hellgate(2013-09-27 12:14 PM) 

[Image: banner300x250.png]
2013-09-27, 12:15 PM,
Lucky you :)

I feel sorry for you

[Image: 468x60-8.jpg]
2013-09-27, 01:23 PM,
Quote:The term Facebook is one of the most famous trademarks on the Internet.

get to the point fb, no one cares.

Related Threads
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  7 Tips to Optimize Facebook Ads Campaigns [Must Read] interwent 7 178 2018-02-20, 09:40 PM
Last Post: joa7691
  Facebook Ads Spy Tools For WH CPA interwent 6 257 2018-02-16, 08:40 PM
Last Post: ultimateCPAian
  Best way to Email 100,000 people per day pioter7 7 509 2018-02-10, 05:38 AM
Last Post: CharlieHarper
  Script Facebook daavin 4 224 2018-02-08, 11:29 PM
Last Post: faithalo
  Real mail ? dsWart 4 189 2018-01-27, 08:36 PM
Last Post: jackin

About Us | Contact Us | CPA Elites | Advertise | Stats | Staff Team

© 2013-2018 CPA Elites Ltd
Enhanced by MyBB and WallBB
Return to top